Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Venison Meat

go4
go4 Posts: 3
I have a chunk of venison that I am defrosting.  I have a bottle of rub and seasoning to put on when it is defrosted. 
The meat is about 2-3 lbs.  Do I smoke it as is(chunk) or do I slice it up prior to smoking it. Do I have to turn it after
a while or just leave it in one position while smoking it. How many hours do Ihave to smoke the meat.

Sorry for all the questions, I am new at this.

Comments

• bgebrent
    bgebrent Posts: 19,636
    What is the cut of venison.
    Sandy Springs & Dawsonville Ga
  • bgebrent
    bgebrent Posts: 19,636
    And welcome aboard.
    Sandy Springs & Dawsonville Ga
  • go4
    Hi, I believe the cut is a portion of hind quarter, sorry not exactly sure.
  • TideEggHead
    TideEggHead Posts: 1,338
    Welcome! Try the search function on this forum, it is very very helpful and there is a lot of great info out there. I would just be careful with low slow on venison, most cuts don't have the fat content needed for low slow cooks. Never done hindquarters on the egg so I'll let others comment on that.
    LBGE
    AL
  • Mattman3969
    Mattman3969 Posts: 10,457
    I don't think venison would benefit from a slow cook.  If it's a chunk like a pork roast I would prolly do it at 350-375 indirect with a remote thermo watching the temp for no more than medium.  If the cut is like a tenderloin I'd go direct  hot n fast flipping every 4-5 or so till desired temp was hit 

-----------------------------------------

analyze adapt overcome