Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Little help on some Aldi Lamb.

Options
bucky925
bucky925 Posts: 2,029
Bought this today at Aldi's just cause.  I have never done lamb before and I'm sure it's not the best cut.  That being said, which direction should I go?  I have done the "perp search" and didn't get what I was looking for. 
Thanks in advance. 

Be careful when following the masses. Sometimes the M is silent.

Comments

• gdenby
    gdenby Posts: 6,239
    Options
    From what I can gather from the label, you have a bit less than3 pounds of boneless lamb leg.

Most folks cook leg of lamb rather fast, at least 350F raised direct, and up to 450F. Just long enough to get good browning, and render some fat. The meat tends to be rather "rich".

Lamb often has a strong flavor mostly in the fat, so  that is the reason to cook it out. Its usually pretty tender,  so no reason to cook lo-n-slo to make it soft.

I'd be inclined to get some spinach and pine nuts, maybe some lemon peel gratings, and fold the meat over those.  Lots of salt and garlic powder on the outer surfaces.
  • CarolinaCrazy
    Options
    Marinate it Red wine, garlic, rosemary, S&P.

I really like to do lamb reverse sear. Lamb can get really gamey and strong if 1) the fat burns, or 2) it is over done.  By reverse sear you can cook it to render off some of the fat and keep it at medium rare, and the fast sear doesn't let the fat burn (too much).

that lamb looks pretty lean.

good luck
    1 LBGE in Chapel Hill, NC
  • td66snrf
    td66snrf Posts: 1,822
    Options