Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Smoke vs ThermoQ

Kjunbob
Kjunbob Posts: 118
I am strongly considering purchasing the Smoke Probe because of it's good ratings.  However, I am having a hard time understanding the difference in the Smoke vs the ThermoQ.  The ThermoQ seems more professional and is considerably more expensive.  It would seemingly be good for a professional cook... and I am a total amateur.  But they both seem to do the same thing.

Am I understanding it correctly?  Thanks
Large Egg.  New Orleans Area

Comments

• Photo Egg
    Photo Egg Posts: 12,110
    Yes, ThermoQ is their pro model. It uses Type K Thermocouple probes. There are many more probe options if needed. The unit is also splash proof.
    It can be ordered stand alone, bluetooth or wi-fi.
    Thank you,
    Darian

Galveston Texas
  • Kjunbob
    Kjunbob Posts: 118
    Thanks.. thought so.  I guess that I was getting the Thermo Q confused with the Digi Q
    Large Egg.  New Orleans Area
  • HeavyG
    HeavyG Posts: 10,324
    I have the predecessor to the ThermaQ (I believe it was called the TW8060 - catchy name yes? :) ). It's a decade or so old. I got it mainly because I needed a probe that could withstand 1000°F heat. As @Photo Egg mentioned they use Type K probes and there are a lot more options available and can be far more durable.

For most of us I doubt that ThermaQ provides more capabilities than the Smoke. 
    “Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away.” ― Philip K. Diçk

• Photo Egg
    Photo Egg Posts: 12,110
    edited June 2017
    Kjunbob said: