Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Needed Accessories???

Kjunbob
Kjunbob Posts: 118
I have had my Egg for about 6 months and am wondering about some suggestions to put on my Father's Day List and Birthday Wish list.  

But first, a little background.  Most of my cooks have been simple chicken and pork butts -- some coming out better than the others as I am still learning how to get the most our of my egg.  My egg sits outdoors in its nest without a cover, and many of my cooks seem to be ending up after dark.  I have not tried any type of over-night cooks, but might want to do so someday.  I live in the New Orleans area, so I don't have to worry about snow, but rain and humidity is a constant issue.

I have a Thermapen and also use a $12 Walmart probe for internal temperature measurement.  I also have a Kick-Ash-Basket.  

However, I'd appreciate any comments on other items that I might want.  Some of my thoughts are:

-- An improved temperature probe like the Maverick ET-732.  I don't think that I need something like the Digi Q (especially considering the price.)  The 732 seems reasonable in cost and has pretty good reviews.  However, should I consider the Smoke from Thermoworks.  It seems to be about twice the price as the Maverick, so I am leaning away from it.  Any suggestions here?  Another comment/question is that the Walmart one is still working, but doesn't measure grill temp.  (But how necessary is grill temp measurement?)