Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Chicken rub

I've been using Holland Grill Carolina Seasoning for a couple of years almost exclusively for chicken cooks.   It's not easy to find around here though.   I've read Yardbird is a good one, what are some other pretty solid rubs for chicken?   Nothing with any noticeable kick/spice since chicken is definitely one of the kid-friendly meals around here.
--Because I'm like ice, buddy. When I don't like you, you've got problems.

KJ Classic
28" Blackstone
South Carolina native, adopted Texan, residing in Olive Branch, MS.  Go Tigers.

Comments

• I like Yardbird.  But I also have bought the sample pack from Oakridge BBQ and found their rubs to be good.  Also, we have Southern Links BBQ who posts on this site.  We could show him some support.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Welcome to the Swamp.....GO GATORS!!!!
  • blasting
    blasting Posts: 6,262

Yardbird is my go to, with Montreal chicken as a close second 

Phoenix 
  • RedSkip
    RedSkip Posts: 1,400
    This is my go to for all poultry... you can buy smaller volume if you'd like too, but I'd recommend just getting the 10# - you'll like it!

http://johnhenrysfoodproducts.com/product/papa-charlies-greek-rub-sesoning-10-lbs/
    Large BGE - McDonald, PA
  • pgprescott
    pgprescott Posts: 14,544
    John henry rubs are solid. Papa Charlie's is great as is pacific oriental rub.