Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

A new EggHead new to the group and Eggs

Options
Fellow members I'm totally new to both the forum and BGE's as well. I'm torn between the Medium size and Large as my first. In general It's just my wife and I and an occasional two or three family members to cook for BUT I want to do slow cook smoke meats and a nice size butt or brisket. Is a Medium going to be ok for the most part?? Any advice will be much appreciated. Thanks Jack from NC

Comments

• SmokingPiney
    SmokingPiney Posts: 2,282
    edited March 2017
    Options
    Welcome to the forum!

With any cooker, I like to go as big as my budget will allow. You never know when you might need the extra capacity. I have an XL for just my wife and I, and the extra capacity has come in very handy for the occasional parties. 
    South Jersey Pine Barrens. XL BGE , Assassin 24, Weber Kettle, CharBroil gasser, AMNPS 
  • GATraveller
    GATraveller Posts: 8,207
    Options
    Welcome.
    I've always felt bigger is better.
    Whatever you chose......enjoy!!

"Social media gives legions of idiots the right to speak when they once only spoke at a bar after a glass of wine, without harming the community [...] but now they have the same right to speak as a Nobel Prize winner. It's the invasion of the idiots."

-Umberto Eco

2 Large
    Peachtree Corners, GA
  • Bowne1
    Bowne1 Posts: 20
    Options