Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

LBGE Table With Concrete Top

Options
Hey guys/girls, this is my first post. I'm new to the Big Green Egg. Just bought the large and a bunch of accessories. I decided to build my own table tho. I wasn't a fan of the wood top and my local granite shop wanted $450 for a slab so I decided to do my own concrete top. I'm planning on finishing the base tomorrow. And starting to pour the concrete top on Monday. I have already build my form with melamine. Going to be an inch and a half thick. My question is, how can I get a nice circle form. I've seen people use styrofoam, but I couldn't find anything local. Any help would be appreciated. I started the frame late yesterday evening. I'm building it all out of western cedar. 

Comments

• blasting
    blasting Posts: 6,262
    edited June 2016
    Options
    Welcome. 

to get the circle, you can cut the circle with a router and circle cutter out of plywood.  Or you could use a string and pencil to draw it and cut it out of wood with a jig saw.
    Phoenix 
  • DaveRichardson
    DaveRichardson Posts: 2,324
    Options

Look for a pre-cut wooden piece and coat it in wax paper.

Cheaper would be to get a piece of foam and use the pencil / compass method to draw out the size of the circle you want.  cut it a little proud and sand it smooth.

LBGE #19 from North GA Eggfest, 2014

Stockbridge, GA - just south of Atlanta where we are covered up in Zombies!  #TheWalkingDead films practically next door!

• Jstroke
    Jstroke Posts: 2,600
    Options