Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pork Rub

Options
g8golfer
g8golfer Posts: 1,025
Trying to find a good rub for a pork shoulder or porl tenderloin. I'm new to the egg so I'm needing some help. I did a porl shoulder a week ago and it turned out awesome but the rub was terrible. I'm all ears. I'm willing to try store bought or even mixing some up using a recipe. 

Comments

• kl8ton
    kl8ton Posts: 5,429
    Options
    Check out Dizzy Pig.  They are very popular around here:
    http://dizzypigbbq.com/original_blends/

Large, Medium, MiniMax, & 22, and 36" Blackstone
    Grand Rapids MI
  • ColtsFan
    ColtsFan Posts: 6,338
    Options
    My vote goes to DP rubs as well. Buy a sample pack and figure out which 2,3, or 12 you prefer. :)
    ~ John - https://www.instagram.com/hoosier_egger
    XL BGE, LG BGE, KJ Jr, PK Original, Ardore Pizza Oven, King Disc 
    Bloomington, IN - Hoo Hoo Hoo Hoosiers!

• Big_Green_Craig
    Big_Green_Craig Posts: 1,578
    Options
  • logchief
    logchief Posts: 1,415
    Options
    Check the Memphis Dust recipe at amazingribs.com.  I use it for most all my pork. 
    LBGE - I like the hot stuff.  The big dry San Joaquin Valley, Clovis, CA 
  • dldawes1
    dldawes1 Posts: 2,208
    Options
    BBBR  Bad Byrons Butt Rub is about all I've ever used. Just can't get away from a good thing !!!

Donnie Dawes - RNNL8 BBQ - Carrollton, KY  

TWIN XLBGEs, 1-Beautiful wife, 1 XS Yorkie

I'm keeping serious from now on...no more joking around from me...Meatheads !! 

• cheeaa
    cheeaa Posts: 364
    Options
    Spog goes with everything