Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Flame Boss 200

Options
2»

Comments

• nutshellml
    nutshellml Posts: 166
    Options
    I was chatting w/ a lot of people and ended up going w/ the CyberQ mainly because of the extra food probes and direct setup for wifi.  Only used it once but it's great so far.
    Northern Jersey
    XL BGE  |  XL Adjustable Rig Combo  |  CyberQ  |  Maverick 733
  • Focker
    Focker Posts: 8,364
    Options
    caliking said:
    Not looking for a better experience necessarily, but I do want to use the FB200 with other cookers, so that's why I started playing around with the Guru fans. Who knows... I may end up building a better mouse trap in the process. 

I called FB and was told that the unit learns and adapts during each cook, but only for the duration of that cook. It will start learning and adapting anew when you start a cook again. Based on what I was told,  it will run a 25cfm fan a certain way, and a 6.5 cfm fan a different way (no, the 25cfm fan is not for the egg). So if you hook up a big fan with the damper partially closed, the FB unit will account for that vs. a different cook using a smaller fan with no damper. 

I wouldn't necessarily go buy a Guru fan to control the egg, but it may be handy for those who have Guru adapters, etc for other cookers, and want to use their FB200 with those. 
    Again, thanks guys.
    Good info cali
    Sent FB an email already.
    Brandon
    Quad Cities
    "If yer gonna denigrate, familiarity with the subject is helpful."

• Jeepster47
    Jeepster47 Posts: 3,827
    edited May 2016
    Options