Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Should I have a steak at 28 days or let it ride to 45?

Options
I have a beef loin dry aging in the fridge right now, today is day 21. Should I cut it and have a steak at 28 days? Or should I wait until 45 days? This is my first time dry aging, so I'm not sure what to expect at 28 days, or what the difference is between 28 and 45 days. My overall plan is to have a roast and steaks ready when I return from an 8 day canoe trip, so one steak removed would be fine, but am I better off letting it ride? I'd hate to ruin it by cutting it when I shouldn't have.

Comments

• Darby_Crenshaw
    Darby_Crenshaw Posts: 2,657
    edited May 2016
    Options
    Both

lop one off now

not much at 28days, but will orovide a comparison

and for the luvva jeezus, dont trim the thing
    [social media disclaimer: irony and sarcasm may be used in some or all of user's posts; emoticon usage is intended to indicate moderately jocular social interaction; the comments toward users, their usernames, and the real people (living or dead) that they refer to are not intended to be adversarial in nature; those replying to this user are entering into a tacit agreement that they are real-life or social-media acquaintances and/or have agreed to or tacitly agreed to perpetrate occasional good-natured ribbing between and among themselves and others]

• RRP
    RRP Posts: 25,922
    Options