Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Question for those that use a chimney starter

Options
I really enjoy and appreciate the fellowship and wisdom found in these forums.  I've recently bought a few accessories to upgrade my overall BGE experience.  This includes a chimney starter and I've never used one before.  They seem to be easy to light, but I have questions about their specific application to the BGE.

If I am doing a relative short cook, such as pork chops or hamburgers, is the lump inside the chimney starter all that I am going to need? (I have a large BGE) And therefore will be dumping the lit lump into a near empty egg? Or should I be dumping the lit lump onto existing lump?

And what about low-n-slow cooks such as butts or briskets? Should I fully load the chimney starter with lump or only partially load it? I'm worried that a fully loaded chimney starter may start my cook temperature too high.  And am I usually ready to cook immediately after dumping the lit lump onto the cool lump, or will the infusion of the two cause some white smoke that will need a while to burn away?

As always, I'd really appreciate any advice with regard to the ins and outs of a chimney starter specifically with the egg.

Hub

Beautiful and lovely Villa Rica, Georgia

Comments

• SoCalTim
    SoCalTim Posts: 2,158
    edited December 2015
    Options
    @Hub .. IMO, a chimney starter is not necessary with the BGE. Oh, some guys use them. I don't.