Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Cheapest jerky

Options
Thinking of doing a bunch of jerky for friends and wife's coworkers for Christmas. What's the cheapest way to go? I've got a slicer. 

2-XLs ,MM,blackstone,Ooni koda 16,R&V works 8.5 gallon fryer,express smoker and 40" smoking cajun 

scott 
Greenville Tx

Comments

• chays99
    Options
    I'm no expert but eye of round from Costco has been the best option for me. 
  • Jstroke
    Jstroke Posts: 2,600
    Options
    Depends what a "bunch" looks like. 20 lbs--200 lbs
    Columbus, Ohio--A Gasser filled with Matchlight and an Ugly Drum.
  • buzd504
    buzd504 Posts: 3,824
    Options
    I've used a top sirloin (london broil) cut with great success.
    NOLA
  • The Cen-Tex Smoker
    Options
    Pork Belly or even bacon jerky- yum. Belly is $2.29 at RD and will be different than anything else they have ever had. You could do shoulder too (like $1.69lb at RD and Sams. These are both way cheaper than beef and will be more "boutique-y" than anyone can find in a store somewhere. You get the benefit of saving money and giving them something unique. Yay Pig!

Keepin' It Weird in The ATX FBTX
  • texaswig
    texaswig Posts: 2,682
    Options
    @The Cen-Tex Smoker thanks man that's exactly what I was looking for. I'm now thinking shoulder. Now to find a marinade  recipe that looks good. 

2-XLs ,MM,blackstone,Ooni koda 16,R&V works 8.5 gallon fryer,express smoker and 40" smoking cajun 

scott 
    Greenville Tx
  • The Cen-Tex Smoker
    Options
    texaswig said: