Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Baking soda and ground beef - anybody heard of or tried this?

Options
I have a subscription to Cooks Illustrated, and the most recent issue has a Chili recipe.  What caught my attention was the step of mixing some baking soda with the ground beef before browning.  It raises the pH, causing the meat to retain more moisture.  This allows the meat to brown in the skillet rather than "poach" in all the released moisture, and without overcooking or drying out.  If this chemistry is correct (and their methods are pretty well tested), it seems it should apply to burgers, meatloaf, or any other dish made with ground beef.

I intend to give this a try when I get the chance, but wondering if anybody else has any experience with this technique.
XLBGE, Small BGE, Homebrew and Guitars
Rochester, NY

Comments

• RRP
    RRP Posts: 25,888
    Options
    not yet, but even though CI seems to hate BGE I have been a believer of their tests and product recommendations for years!
    Re-gasketing America one yard at a time.
  • bettysnephew
    bettysnephew Posts: 1,188
    Options
    @RRP Ron, In a very recent article that Chris Kimball wrote, he relates to having cooked something on his BGE after the local town celebration. I think their use on TV of so many gas grills is because more of their viewers would own a gasser than an Egg. You have to play to your largest audience. We all know the recipes would be better on the Egg and I believe they do also.
    A poor widows son.
    See der Rabbits, Iowa
  • njl
    njl Posts: 1,123
    Options