Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Temperature control....... not good so far

chiroump
chiroump Posts: 0
edited May 2012 in EGG Table Forum
I'm a rookie.   Just got my Egg last week.  I'm having a heck of a time determining how to regulate the temp.  Seems it gets really hot quickly, but then it takes what seems a long time to bring temp down.   Then, I had the temp steady at 280, to do a prime rib overnight.   Put rib in oven, closed lid.  5 hours later I went out to check and see how the temp was going, it had shut down, temp was 135.  Frustrating.
I'm using both the screen vent door at the bottom and the vents at the top to try to control the temp, but I'm not having much luck.  
How long did it take you to get fairly good at temp control, and what tips do you have for a flustered rookie?
Thanks

Comments

• HuskAus
    HuskAus Posts: 3

I feel your pain.  Less than a week as well.  Good ribs, great pork butt, and absolutely horrible brisket.  I killed the flat portion.  So much so that I don't think my dogs could chew it to eat it.  :((

I too am struggling with this.  Will anxiously await others replies.

• tazcrash
    tazcrash Posts: 1,852
    ok, for temp control, patience. 
    As you saw, it's tough to bring all that ceramic mass temp down once it gets hot. Also, personally for anything over 300 or so, I don'/t even use the MFDWT
    Here is what I try to do: 
    1) open bottom vent, stir old coals, make sure holes are not clogged, and light the lump in a couple places. 
    2) leave the dome open and let the fire catch.