Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Raised and direct??

I am new to the eggheads and have seen recipes that called for "raised and direct" cooking. Like I said, I'm new, so don't fall over laughing. Thanks for any help
Large BGE x2  Now we're cookin' in Dothan Al.

Comments

• nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    edited May 2014
    Welcome to the forum. 

Raised direct means you raise up your cooking grid to the felt line or higher. 

Indirect is shielding the food from direct heat from the fire.  You can do this with the plate setter.  This turns the egg into an oven.

Don't believe everything you read here, but some good info:
    http://www.biggreenegg.com/getting-started/first-timer-tips/

I'm guessing there is a raised grate sold for the LGE.  I will shop around. Thanks for the quick reply
    Large BGE x2  Now we're cookin' in Dothan Al.
  • Carolina Q
    Carolina Q Posts: 14,831
    You can use a couple of bricks turned on edge on the fire ring. Or three empty beer cans. Or you can buy a Woo or Adjustable Rig from the http://ceramicgrillstore.com/

I hate it when I go to the kitchen for food and all I find are ingredients!                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

Michael 
    Central Connecticut 

• nolaegghead