Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

1st Royal oak cook

Options
Just bought some royal oak lump from Amazon. Getting ready for my first cook with it ( St. Louis ribs ). I'm hoping I've found a lump I like.

Comments

• bigguy136
    bigguy136 Posts: 1,362
    Options
    I've been using RO for several years and find it does all temps good and 20+ hours at 250 in my large. Check around at some local stores and save the shipping costs if you can. I can pick it up at the hardware store for 5-6 dollars for. 8.8 lb bag when on sale.

Big Lake, Minnesota

2X Large BGE, 1 Mini Max, Stokers, Adjustable Rig

• Cookinbob
    Cookinbob Posts: 1,691
    Options
    Home Depot has 17.6 lb bags of Royal Oak for about $13.00, I am sure all the Philly area stores have it in stock.
    XLBGE, Small BGE, Homebrew and Guitars
    Rochester, NY
  • Mkadilla
    Mkadilla Posts: 38
    Options
    FYI. My one and only bad cook on my Egg since I have had it (~30 cooks) was not waiting long enough for Royal Oak to burn clean before putting the food on the grill. Gave the cook a bad taste. It is documented well on the forums that VOC burnoff takes longer with RO vs. other lump.

Just make sure the "bad" smoke is gone before you start cooking......
  • BYS1981
    BYS1981 Posts: 2,533
    Options
    Mkadilla said:

FYI. My one and only bad cook on my Egg since I have had it (~30 cooks) was not waiting long enough for Royal Oak to burn clean before putting the food on the grill. Gave the cook a bad taste. It is documented well on the forums that VOC burnoff takes longer with RO vs. other lump.