Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

New owner First Cook, Paella

I have been making Paella on a Weber kettle for several years.  Recently became the proud owner of an XLBGE thanks to a great wife and a milestone birthday.  I have 2 Paella pans.  A 14" (serves 6) and an 18" (serves 10-12).  The XL is the only one that holds an 18" pan, so there was no question.  My recipe is adapted from one I found in a Weber cookbook, so I have never cooked it on anything but charcoal.  I have kind of figured out the ratio of broth to rice to protein, so it is easy to scale up the recipe for more or less people.

At any rate, i wanted to break in the egg with some friends, and Paella is always a festive event on my patio.  Invited 3 other couples including the owner of the local BGE dealer who set me up. 

Began by starting the fire in my chimney, but having not read up enough, it was a bit too small for the duration of the cook, and I did have to add some charcoal, but otherwise a complete success.  I always add some smoking wood (apple) as I believe it adds authenticity to the Paella.  For protein, this one had Chorizo (which I smoke myself) a bit of chicken, shrimp, and mussels.  We set the pan in the middle of our round table with 2 serving spoons and everybody digs in.  Delish.
XLBGE, Small BGE, Homebrew and Guitars
Rochester, NY

Comments

• Lowflyer
    Lowflyer Posts: 785
    Looks great!! Welcome aboard!!
  • robnybbq
    robnybbq Posts: 1,911
    I want paella!  That looks great.

Garnerville, NY
  • Chubbs
    Chubbs Posts: 6,929
    Pretty strong first cook. Nicely done.