Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Question on Lighting

Hello, fellow Eggers. I've been a long time lurker but hope to contribute something worthwhile in short order. I'm a long-term offset smoker cook who is learning to use my 1 year old Egg for short cooks. I'm hoping to get some feedback on what type of MAPP/propane torch to purchase for lighting. Pardon my moronic question, but do MAPP torches also burn propane? Which fuel would you suggest? Thanks in advance.
Transplanted from Austin, Texas to Medina, Ohio

Comments

• cazzy
    cazzy Posts: 9,136
    edited May 2013
    I bought this kit from Home Depot and have been very happy with it:

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

I like the hose so I don't have to have the can in the pit and can keep it right side up.
    Just a hack that makes some $hitty BBQ....
  • double
    double Posts: 1,214
    I use a weed burner on a propane tank.
    Lynnwood WA
  • njl
    njl Posts: 1,123
    With good lump, a tablespoon of vegetable oil on a folded up paper towel nestled in the center of the pit will get the thing lit.
  • MrCookingNurse
    MrCookingNurse Posts: 4,665
    I love my benzo map torch. Wish it was the one like cazzy with the hose, but I bought mine on clearance.

A torch of some kind has to be the quickest and most fun way to light an egg :)

I also have some welding safety glasses, and a pair of 3/4 length welding gloves that I put on while lighting. Sometimes sparks fly.

XLBGE 
  • tazcrash
    tazcrash Posts: 1,852
    edited May 2013
    TEggSun said: