Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Best smoke for Tandoori cooking

Options
I've been a long-time cook of Indian food. I'm about to do my first cook on the egg for tikka/tandoori chicken and lamb.

Tandoori meat from a good Indian restaurant always has a smoky taste, but I cannot put a finger on which smoke wood would be best.

Suggestions/ideas appreciated!

-- Josh

Comments

• caliking
    caliking Posts: 18,731
    Options
    Many (most?) tandoori restos use commercial gas tandoors. Traditional tandoors are wood or charcoal fired and I don't think any particular attention is paid to what specific type of charcoal is being used. Having said, I would try oak lump, since IMO the flavor of hickory and mesquite can be a bit strong. 

Part of the smoky flavor has to do with a little bit of char on the meat and the flavor imparted by fat/juices dripping on to the hot charcoal. 

I've tried some experiments with tandoor-style grilling on the egg, and the results have been great, but not as good as my tandoor.

#1 LBGE December 2012 • #2 SBGE February  2013 • #3 Mini May 2013
    A happy BGE family in Houston, TX.
  • Richard Fl
    Richard Fl Posts: 8,297
    Options
    I like to use apple or apricot for flavor.
  • nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    Options
    Fruitwoods are more palatable to people who are sensitive to smoke - they can almost be like perfume.  Find some species that you like and stock up.
    I agree that I would avoid hickory and mesquite and would use something more subtle such as fruit woods or Oak/cherry/alder.
  • Chubbs