Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

New here! DIY Stainless table questions....

I've been oggling my dad's egg for a few years now.  He called me yesterday and said, "Merry Christmas Danielle, go buy yourself a Large BGE on me."

Best. Dad. Ever.

Needless to say, I've been eating up all of your posts since.  My biggest concern at the moment is a home for my new baby.  My dad said he'd buy me an egg and a nest... but, I was thinking that for the $141 price tag of a nest, I could spend a little bit more and get something way better for the money.  I found a used stainless steel kitchen prep table (7 feet long!) on Craigslist for $200.  Before I buy it, I'd like to know a few things:

1.) How do I cut it?  I've read on other threads that I should use a plasma cutter but that's just not feasible.  Other people say a jig saw will do it but my father-in-law (the owner of the jig saw I would be using) looked at me like I had three heads when I suggested it would cut stainless.  If you used a jig saw, what blade did you use and how many did it take?  Did it work? Tips?

2.) Do I need to put anything under my egg or can it just sit on the lower (solid) stainless steel shelf?  Will heat be an issue if I do this?  Should I put a tile or something between the shelf and the egg?

3.) I plan to get a platesetter right away.  Is there anything else I MUST have immediately?

4.) Thoughts on covers?  I live in New England...

Thanks!

Comments

• nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102