Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First Butt is ON!

Ok, dome temp has been at 200 for 2 hours. I'm crashing and NOT checking till morning. The 8 pound butt was injected with Coca-Cola, rubbed with a homemade and topped with some old fashioned French's Mustard. It's sitting on a grid on a drip pan on a reversed plate setter on Apple and Hickory in a hole in the bottom of the Sea. This is my first attempt. I'm going with rockin or crash and burn. Either way, it's a learning experience. AND I may be a bit buzzed up, just sayin. Happy Egging!!!!

Comments

• henapple
    henapple Posts: 16,025
    I would up that temp to 250-270 overnight. There's a good chance your fire will go out.
    Green egg, dead animal and alcohol. The "Boro".. TN 
  • Wolfpack
    Wolfpack Posts: 3,551
    Pork butts are very forgiving and I am far from an intermediate but my experience has been to cook at a little higher temp. But you can see where you are tomorrow morning and adjust based on time you are looking to grub.
    Greensboro, NC
  • Duganboy
    Duganboy Posts: 1,118
    As stated above, 200 dome is about 175 at the grid.  Your dome needs to be 250-275.
  • If your dome is 200 and you do not have a controller, your fire is most likely going to be out when you wake up in the morning. I can only keep a fire 200 or less with my controller, I am very interested to see if you get lucky and still have a fire in the morning. I have to put my money on the latter though, good luck, let us know.