Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Smoking Sausages on Egg?

Options
So thought I would smoke some sausage on the egg along with some chicken wings for tailgating the next day.  I've never done it before, so some questions...

Was going to do Italian sausage since on sale.  Do I "boil" in beer first or go straight on the smoker?  
How long to you smoke them and when do you know they are done?
Any certain wood work better than other?

Any suggestions on the sausages and the wings would be great!

Comments

• SmokeyPitt
    SmokeyPitt Posts: 10,490
    edited November 2012
    Options
    I don't think you need to boil them first.  I think you will get better smoke flavor if you just put them on uncooked.  I think any smoke such as hickory, apple, cherry would be good...I think something like oak or mesquite would be too strong.  

The best way to know they are done is with an instant read thermometer.  I would double check the package but I think sausage is probably 160 internal temp. 

As far as time...depends on what temperature you are cooking at.  I usually do wings indirect at 300-350, maybe an hour.  I would probably just throw the sausages on with the wings and check them after 45 minutes or so.   If you want to do a more low n slow then I'm sure that would be great too.  For wings n chicken, the only advantage I see for low n slow is more time to soak up smoke. 

Which came first the chicken or the egg?  I egged the chicken and then I ate his leg. 

• Little Steven
    Options