Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Smoked Turkey

joejoeshooter
joejoeshooter Posts: 57
edited October 2012 in EggHead Forum
Let's hear it.

I've been frying for about 15 years - love it but just don't feel it this year.

I'm sure after useing my BGE for two years, a turkey will stay moist.

Tell me what to do.

Thanks.

JJS

Comments

• Cullum
    Cullum Posts: 215
    I think I am going to try spatchcocking a turkey this Thanksgiving season. I've yet to cook a turkey on the egg. There are some good posts on here about that. 
  • cazzy
    cazzy Posts: 9,136
    I haven't done a spatchcock turkey but the results should be exceptional.

I think I may cook the whole bit because we usually stuff it. We will see.
    Just a hack that makes some $hitty BBQ....
  • This is my first swipe at a couple of things: posting a cook and spatchcock turkey.  Sunday evening's spatchcocked turkey was very easy to do.  We had a 14.5# bird and I thought I would prolly want a little smaller one for uniformity.  I went 300 indirect because I was a little nervous going direct with such a big bird that I would really char the outside before the inside was done.  Coated simply with EVOO and Dizzy Dust.  It was moist & flavorful!  We go to my sister's on Thanksgiving, but this may be our go-to method at home.  Sorry for only the two photos, but football was on and I had to cheer my fantasy team to another defeat!

imageimage
    Flint, Michigan
  • travisstrick
    travisstrick Posts: 5,002
    BEAT HIM!!!!!!!

:ar! :ar! :ar! :ar! :ar! :ar! :ar!

BE READY FOR MICKEY TO SUGGEST SPATCH TURKEY