Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Moral support, bare ceramic....

Options
Doc_Eggerton
Doc_Eggerton Posts: 5,321
edited August 2012 in EggHead Forum
OK, my LBGE has started shedding big flakes of dead gasket.  I have been cooking for 7 months now with classic fried gasket, but am close (on both the L and the XL) to bare ceramic.  The only thing that would get closer is taking a putty knife to them, and I am wondering if that wouldn't be a good idea.

OK guys, I have no enthusiasm to giving up cooking for a couple of days or going to the effort to install a new gasket.

Convince me that I don't need to.

PS, after removing all gasket, do I need to reset the dome?

XXL #82 out of the first 100, XLGE X 2, LBGE (gave this one to daughter 1.0) , MBGE (now in the hands of iloveagoodyoke daughter 2.0) and lots of toys

Comments

• nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    Options
    If it doesn't close evenly, and I'd suspect with the gasket removed and the hinges set up with a 1/8" or so material gone, it would contact first in the front and have a gap growing larger in the rear.  Only one way to find out....
    (in the spirit of Jeff Foxworthy): 

If you're leaking smoke from where the gasket used to be...

if you're noticing that you cannot get up to, or down from, temp easily...

If there's a noticeable gap between the base & the lid...

If you are a classic "butterfingers" and are afraid that you'll inadvertently drop the lid from max height & let it slam down onto the base...

...you might need a new gasket.

(otherwise - COOK ON)!!