Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Best Wood Flavor for Smoking Boston Butt

Options
Wally_Wabash_03
Wally_Wabash_03 Posts: 95
edited July 2012 in EggHead Forum
I'm a relative newbie -- I'm going to be doing the Naked Whiz's slow cook pulled pork tonight.  Any suggestions for what kind of wood to use for the smoke? I have hickory and that would be my default, but I would be interested in any other suggestions -- I'll provide pics and updates throughout.  

Thanks!!

Comments

• bigphil
    bigphil Posts: 1,390
    Options
    i like apple and hickory or cherry , 
    Large Big Green Egg , XL Big Green Egg . BBQ Guru, Weber Kettle, Weber Q grill for road trips.
  • Eggbertsdad
    Eggbertsdad Posts: 804
    Options
    ^^^^ I like all 3 of those. 
    Sarasota, FL via Boynton Beach, FL, via Sarasota, FL, via Charleston, SC, via The Outer Banks, via God's Country (East TN on Ft. Loudon Lake)
  • bud812
    bud812 Posts: 1,869
    Options
    Apple or maple for me.

Not to get technical, but according to chemistry alcohol is a solution...

Large & Small BGE

Stockton Ca.

• lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,337
    Options
    I go with a mix of apple and cherry-heavier on the cherry.  It will turn out great wth whatever you use. A very forgiving cook.  Enjoy the journey.
    Louisville; Rolling smoke in the neighbourhood. # 38 for the win.  Life is too short for light/lite beer!  Seems I'm livin in a transitional period.
  • LeggoMyEgg0
    Options