Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

How do I know when the egg is ready to use?

Options
seannichols21
seannichols21 Posts: 2
edited May 2012 in EggHead Forum
I am brand new to my egg as well as new to using a charcoal grill and with that I am a bit confused on when/how I will know when my grill is ready to use both for smoking and grilling.

I have ready numerous posts stating that the smoke should be clear and odor free before using and that makes since for a regular grilling. But if I am smoking, do I need to wait for the smoke to be clear? Many posts said to light a small area and regulate once I get to 250, but if I do that won't that leave a bunch of un burnt coals that will produce nasty smoke on my meat once they ignite thru ought the cook?

Maybe I am over thinking this, but I could really use a detailed explanation around when I know my grill is ready for smoking and should I be worried about charcoal that has not burnt off the nasty stuff prior to placing my meat on.

I hope this makes sense!

Comments

• stike
    stike Posts: 15,597
    Options
    dome is at steady temp, and the smoke smells good.  clear? blue? white?  i dunno.  but if it smells good, it'll taste good.

once you get steady at 250 for a while (for low and slow cooks), the VOCs will be pretty much blown off, even from the unlit lump.  VOCs aren't released by the burning.... they are volatile (easily evaporated) compounds which are carried away by the draft (even from unlit lump). their volatility is increased also by their being in a hot environment to begin with.