Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

What's your occupation?

Options

Comments

• Village Idiot
    Village Idiot Posts: 6,959
    edited April 2012
    Options
    Not one pro chef among us eh? Or maybe I missed it.
     IMO

everyone here with an Egg is one in his or her own right.

I'm a machinist by trade but have been working as a bio pharmaceutical maintenance tech.
    Not really.  Some really good cooks, but not chefs.

To really be a chef, you need to have graduated from a recognized culinary academy.  There are far more considerations in being a chef than just making a good, tasty meal.

It's much like being called an "engineer".  They call garbage collectors "Refuse Engineers" and parking lot attendees "Transportation Placement Engineers", but they are not the real thing like Mechanical Engineers or Electrical Engineers.

Dripping Springs, Texas.
    Just west of Austintatious

• Little Steven
    Little Steven Posts: 28,817
    Options
    True dat Gary. It's a college level diploma, not a university level thing. Good to have go to on the forum though

Steve 

Caledon, ON

• Brownie
    Brownie Posts: 1,023
    Options
    @ Village Idiot. I was emphasizing on the phrase because of all the creativity I see on some of the awesome food posts I see here. It was an attempt to compliment them. Should I change my my user id to Forum Idiot? lol

• Flamethrower
    Options
    Still the only Hose Jockey
    LET'S EAT
  • Little Steven
    Options
    My Dad was one if that counts

Steve 

Caledon, ON

• brianwdmn
    brianwdmn Posts: 371
    Options