Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Sausages and pork belly on the BGE

Options
keithb
keithb Posts: 8
edited March 2012 in Pork

I'm looking to smoke some sausage and a small piece of pork belly tomorrow and since I have never done either before, was wondering if anyone has some tips and also timings and temps.  I've done lots of ribs, butts and the occasional salmon on our Lg BGE, but never these 2 things.

What I have is 6 beautiful italian sausages (raw, not pre-smoked or anything) and a 1.5 pound slab of pork belly.  The sausages total about 2 lbs worth.

What's the best way to smoke 'em (I'd assume low and slow) and how long for.  For the pork belly, I was goping to give it a rub and then put it on with the sausage.

Thanks in advance

Comments

• gdenby
    gdenby Posts: 6,239
    Options
    The sausages and the pork belly might be cooked together, but they are really different things.

All fresh sausages can be cooked direct on a raised grill. The temperature can be fairly hot, 375F. They will need several turnings. I've read recently that it is good to simmer sausages in water around 180F for a few minutes prior to grilling, so the casing gets tougher, and don't burst. I've done this, and it seems to work, but I was careful about turning often.

Whenever i have done pork belly, I have cooked at a low temperature, indirect, for at least 4 hours, allowing a lot of the fat to render out. I suppose you could put the sausages on in the last hour, and have them safely warmed. But for myself, I like the sausages a little crisp on the outside.