Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Smokey - Heavy charcoal flavor

bwalek
bwalek Posts: 2
edited February 2012 in EggHead Forum

Let me start with....I'm new to the BGE, only had it about 1 month now.  My wife has complained several times that food is coming off with a very heavy smokey-charcoal taste. (i noticed on some things too.)   I used BGE charcaol at first, then bought some Cowboy natural lump at Lowes....The Cowboy does seems to burn different.

The heavy smokey flavor seems to happen more on the direct heat grilling.  Its seems to happen more now with the cowboy charcoal...but just not sure.

It happend the first or 2nd time I cooked on the BGE.(with nBGE charcoal)....but realized then i didn't let it heat up properly, and was creating a lot of smoke and not waiting til it was ready

Amy Suggestions ????  Is it the Charcoal ??  Does the Charocal brand make a big difference in flavor ?Am I doing something wrong ? 

I want the nice charcoal flavor of the BGE.....but some items are very stong flavor.

Any ideas, suggestions or help is much appreciated....

Comments

• Direct grilling, I am guessing that you're grilling for a short period of time, like steak, burgers, chicken things that take 30 mins or less. Let your lump turn into a hot bed of red coals. Then grill... Yes the lump does make a difference also. Huge chunks that look more like tree trunks rather than lump, that's not heavy,  you should not use or if you do make sure they have cooked off. You can smell what is going on also.
    Located in Western North Carolina