Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pork Butt Against the Clock

Options
ChanningJohnson
ChanningJohnson Posts: 40
edited December 2011 in Pork
I like to drive fast and take chances. So, I'm doing my first low and slow this weekend, overnight and with 12 people expecting to eat around 5 p.m. the next day. My butcher ordered a pork butt specifically for me. He told me to expect 8 lbs and I just picked up the 11 pound pork butt today. I'm a wedding photographer and won't get home from my wedding that night until probably 11:45 p.m. I'll have everything ready to go so I only have to light it, but if I get the meat on by 12:30 that will only be 17 hours at 5:30 p.m. 

I guess I'm going to be going forward with it no matter what and am prepared to kick it up to 300 degrees to finish it up if I have to. But what would those experienced do to make sure it was done in time while sacrificing as little possible. How early could I have my wife take the meat out to help it rise in temperature before it goes on the grill and hopefully shave off some time. 3 hours early? I don't like the idea of having my wife put in the oven on low for a couple of hours before I put it on the egg when I get home, but would do it if someone told me I wouldn't be sacrificing much. I was going to cook it for 250 for as long as possible. Do you think I could get away with lower temperature despite the time crunch?

Thanks so much for you help!

- Channing

Comments

• Squeezy
    Squeezy Posts: 1,102
    Options

I would agree with setting it out early and 3 hrs sounds good to me.