Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

pizza dough recipe

Options
jerryp
jerryp Posts: 232
edited October 2011 in EggHead Forum
I'm looking for a neapolitan-style pizza dough recipe. I used to be able to buy good dough balls at my local Weis Market, but they carry a different brand now, and it isn't very good.  Thanks.

Comments

• lwrehm
    lwrehm Posts: 381
    Options

This is the recipe that I have been using for several years...

15 oz Caputo "00" pizzaria flour (or 10 oz AP flour and 5 oz cake flour)

1 cup warm water (100 degrees F or so)

1 packet instant yeast (I use bulk SAF Red instant yeast 2 1/2 tsp)

1 tsp sugar

1 tbl kosher salt

1 tbl olive oil

Combine the water, sugar, and yeast in stand mixer bowl and let the yeast get started 5-10 minutes.  Turn the mixer on slow with dough hook and add the oil and salt then slowly add the flour.  Once all the flour has been added let it mix for a couple minutes and take a look and feel, if it is "crumbly" add a tablespoon of water, or if too sticky add a tsp or so flour  (go very light and slow with these addtions alot can to a long way)  then bump up the speed and let it knead for a couple minutes.

Put the dough ball in an olive oiled bowl cover and let rise,  I usually make mine in the morning for pizza for dinner,  the wife likes uber-thin crust and I cheat and use a rolling pin, it rolls better cold so I let it rise inthe fridge.  

Makes 4 12" or so round pies.  Made it last night, the kids love it!

• jerryp
    jerryp Posts: 232
    Options
    Thanks. I look forward to trying it.
  • Charcoal_Addict