Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Weber Exile: "What Should I cook first"

Bumm39
Bumm39 Posts: 60
edited September 2011 in EggHead Forum
I Have vast experience with my Weber charcoal Grills, and I'm wondering what meal I should break out with. Would LOVE any suggestions.
                                                                       Thanx Meat Man 

Comments

• I am a newbie and have done about 2 dozen cooks on the Large BGE.  First cook was pulled pork which I have done another 1/2 dozen times.  It is very easy with reliably awesome results.  Helps show off some of the benefits of the Egg and lets you learn to fiddle with temp control and low and slow cooks.  Get any cut of pork shoulder bone in preferable, rub with yellow mustard and then your favorite rub.  Cook at 250 dome temp for about 1.5-2 hours per lb., pull when meat is 190-200, let rest and pull meat.  Serve on white buns with coleslaw and your favorite sauce.  Last time I did this was for a labor day party at a friend's house (sorry I upstaged his cooking effort) and had about a dozen people ask me how I did the pork.  12 lb shoulder completely devoured.

Make sure you fill the Egg with lump near the top of the fire ring and you shouldn't need to add any add'l lump.  I usually use a combination of hickory and apple or cherry for smoke.  So easy, so good and hard to mess up.
  • I usually tell people to roast a whole chicken for their first cook. Heres why;
    1. Chicken is inexpensive if everything goes horribly wrong you haven't just destroyed $75 in prime beef.