Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

DIY hot sauce aka Hay"That's Hot"Honker Sauce

hayhonker
hayhonker Posts: 576
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Like it hot? Me too. This is my first attempt at a super hot sauce. It turned out really really hot with good flavor. The burn lasts about 10 minutes.
I'm already thinking ahead to the next batch. I think some dark rum would work well in the saute phase and added to the blender for a little sweetness.

Start with a pound of habaneros, an onion and five cloves of garlic.
hot01.jpg
Saute in olive oil until the skins start to brown. Next time I will de-glaze the pan with dark rum.
hot02.jpg
Add 1/2 cup cilantro, 1/4 cup white vinegar, 1/4 cup olive oil, 1 tsp salt, 1 TB black pepper. Next time I will add 1/4 cup dark rum.
hot03.jpg
Blend until smooth and creamy.
hot04.jpg
Enjoy in moderation on wings, tacos, pizza. Add to some mild salsa. Get your friends to try it. Have fun! Goes good with the 100 degree temps we've been having :evil:
hot05.jpg

Comments

• EmandM'sDad
    EmandM'sDad Posts: 648
    Jason you are way braver than I !! :laugh:
  • AZRP
    AZRP Posts: 10,116
    I made some for dinner tonight, we're having cochinita pibil. It was 10 habs, 2 cloves of garlic, 2 Tbs lime juice, and 4 Tbs water. I'm scared of it.:evil:-RP
  • "Sparky"
    "Sparky" Posts: 6,024
    Wow Jason,that looks great :woohoo: I'll add that to my to-try list :)
  • Botch
    Botch Posts: 15,432