Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First time recipe: what do you recommend??

Options
etomczak
etomczak Posts: 9
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hey all, large egg being delivered this weekend--hellz yeah!

What do you all recommend as a great starter 'recipe' to dazzle my wife and show her that this was wel worth the money? Burgers? Some sort of steak? Ribs? Fish?

Keep in mind that I am very new to the Egg (and cooking with charcoal!).

Thanks! :)

Comments

• RVH
    RVH Posts: 523
    Options
    I started out in the same boat as you and did simple burgers for a first cook. A lot of people with more guts have cooked a spatchcocked chicken, which was my second cook. It should have been the first selection, just for the WOW factor. I was afraid that controling temps would be a huge curve: it wasn't. Good luck with your first cook.
  • h20egg
    h20egg Posts: 168
    Options
    My first was a beer butt chicken...excellent. I'd just recommend that you don't overdo the smoke chips on chicken, and let the fire get going good first to burn off the volatiles from the lump. Some lump can add plenty of smokiness on its own.

Just....cook. Expect some disappointments but from those come experience. In no time you're laundry hamper will smell like burning charcoal!
  • Hitch
    Hitch Posts: 402
    Options
    I TOTALLY agree with the Spatchcock route. I do em all the time, and everyone loves yard bird.