Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First try at bread on the egg

Options
Kenny 13
Kenny 13 Posts: 321
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Since even before I got my BGE, I've been interested in exploring its' full capabilities. Lately I've been reading a lot about baking on the egg, whether it's bread, pizza, or even desserts, and I've been trying to learn some of that. I'm completely new to the baking thing and thanks to some suggestions from forum members here I found a few places online to learn a little.

Saturday I baked my first loaf of bread in the oven, and it was as basic a recipe as you can find with the only ingredients being flour, yeast, salt, & water. Yesterday I planned on cooking a few burgers for dinner, so I thought it would be great to serve them on some home baked bread cooked in the egg. Used another basic recipe from the same site with a few more ingredients, and basically just expanded on that first basic recipe. Came out pretty good for a first try at baking on the egg. Got a few pics here.

Here's the dough, set for rising.

2cxenx4.jpg

After the rise (90 minutes), quite a difference in size.

10cnbkl.jpg

Since I wanted to put burgers on the bread, I decided to go with a loaf pan to get some control over the shape. Here it is shaped and scored, ready for baking after another hour rising.

axiljd.jpg

Finished baking on the egg.

fkti6e.jpg

5dpbp5.jpg

k4te8p.jpg