Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Yet Another NEWBIE with Questions !!! LONG

Options
BIG BAD JOHN
BIG BAD JOHN Posts: 2
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I've been grilling for about 23 years now, even in the snow before that was popular (though my neighbors who called me crazy followed suit after smelling my smoke!) and have always cooked on metal grills. I stared with Hibachi's, moved on to other Wally World specials (MECO), had a Kingsford Oval which I LOVED, and now a 22" Weber.[p]I've been very successful grilling meats on these metal grills with an indirect heat method at low temperatures...the meat is juicy, tender, and flavorful. I'm now wanting to move up to the EGG after having only recently discovered it to expand my cooking to vegetables, fruits, desserts, etc.[p]My main question relates to grill size. I spoke with the folks at the main office this morning after reading some tantalizing posts regarding the new XL model and had this rumor confirmed. The new XL will have a diameter of approximately 24" and will be available sometime late summer, early autumn. The way I now cook on the 22" Weber is to construct a "pyramid" of briquettes in the CENTER of the grill, starting with a base of 4 x 5 briquettes and building up from there. I soak each layer of briquettes with lighter fluid as I build my pyramid and let it set for about 10 minutes before lighting. The food is placed around the edge of the grill in a circle with the pyramid in the center. No food is over the top of the pyramid...EVER. This method has been very successful for me, but will my style chan