Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

XL Hot spots?

Options
BBQ BOY
BBQ BOY Posts: 56
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I read that the Xl tends to get hotspots. Anyone heard of this? I have been BBQing for 2 decades and haven't heard of such a thing. I just bought my XL and now I am worried I made a big mistake.

Comments

• Little Chef
    Little Chef Posts: 4,725
    Options
    BBQ Boy....Trust me...you did NOT make a mistake! If there are hot spots, they are areas you learn, just like any other smoker, gasser, or grill. Eggs usually cook VERY evenly....if I had to say there was a hot spot, it is usually if I am cooking indirect, and I let the meat extend beyond the plate setter.
    Truly...do not have any doubts.....Sure, there is a learning curve, but with this forum to help, you will be an Eggspert in NO time! B) You will be looking for a large, medium or small to add to your deck in NO time. :)
    Welcome....and jump on in!! :laugh:

PS...3 Lg and medium here...so can't speak for the XL specifically....I think it holds pretty well across the line though. I am sure others will chime in. ;)
  • Pilcher Man
    Options
    I had my XL for about 3 mos. and used it extensively without hot spot problems. I love my XL, glad I got the big one. Use a reducing ring if cooking for 4 or less people. Uses less charcoal and might give you a little more control until you get the hang of the egg. Cut one out of a 15" stainless steel beer keg, 3 1/2" to 4" tall. It will save you some money if you have access to a keg. Pilcher Man
  • Frank from Houma
    Options