Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Dialing in Lo 'n Slo temps at Startup

Options
wdan
wdan Posts: 261
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hi folks, I'm a newbie. Have had my lrg BGE since late July, have been reading this forum daily and thoroughly enjoying both. Have been doing all kinds of stuff on the cooker (much of it from your leads)while gradually leading up to the launch of my main offensive this holiday weekend...a low 'n slow 9.5 lb. pork butt shoulder (for some reason, they don't call them Boston butts around here, but that's what they are...I'm pretty sure) for a post-roast tug-o-war.[p]Initial lighting with a Weber starter cube resulted in a massive, mosquito-killing smoke screen (which I've had before, and clears up after the lump gets hotter). So I went inside for awhile. I returned 15-20 minutes later to find lava even the Naked Whiz would envy! So I replaced the rain cap and closed the bottom damper and engaged in other activities for 3 hours until things calmed down to 250 F. I finally got things going and stable around 230F and went to bed, planning to get up every 2 hours to check things out...good thing I did. The lava eruption burned up a lot of fuel and by 5:00 A.M. (12 hours on-line) the fire was out. Finished it in the oven, it turned out great, my guests were impressed (I didn't care, I just wanted to go to bed)...bottom line is it worked! Nobody up in this part of the Northwoods I know can do pull like this came out, and it was every bit as good as anything I ever had in Memphis![p]My recurring problem though, is how to get a lo 'n slo lit rig