Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Your Personal Recommended Pizza Stone

Options
bull
bull Posts: 64
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I have heard that Pampered Chef pizza stones have a tendancy to disinagrate at temps of 600 on an egg.

Im a newbie lg egg owner and want to make pizzas and bread.
I was given a 15 inch stone, now worried about it coming apart.
Whats the eggsperts opinions on quality stones for my egg?

Thanks in advance,

Mike

Comments

• Panhandle Smoker
    Options
    Use it with a plate setter. If I were to break the wifes pampered chef stone I would be on the grill. BGE has good stone but I got a 16" kiln shelf, Same thing but cheaper even with shipping. Here is a link
    http://www.axner.com/axner/equipment/cordierite-kiln-shelves.php
  • RRP
    RRP Posts: 25,927
    Options
    Yes the PC stones have a bad track record when introduced to a BGE. Since you've already bit the bullet for your large then why not pop for their pizza stone which is made of the same ceramic material. My stone is now 9 years ago and shiny black as a veteran of many pizza cooks. Do you also have a plate setter? If not pick up one of those too.
  • Chris in Gwinnett
    Options