Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Question on Stabilising...

Options
OttawaEgg
OttawaEgg Posts: 283
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Still a relative egg-virgin. I've only done about 4 meals - and two were steaks. Plus, I'm also a charcoal newbie, born and raised with a gas grill.

I know that to get the temp. stable, you shut the vents as it approaches the temp...

In my case (like most?) trying to get mr. eggie to hold at 250.

I shut the vents at around 200 - a sliver at the top, and about 1/2 inch at the bottom. Then wait (and have a sip). It gets pretty close - but then I open the lid, and put on whatever and I find I have to fiddle with the vents again to get it back to 250. Open em up a bit, then close. Am I doing this right?

Any tips there? Should I just leave the vents - cuz when I open, the temp drops.

Comments

• "Sparky"
    "Sparky" Posts: 6,024
    Options
    If your egg is stable at 250,and you open the dome to put something in,just close the dome.The egg will go back to 250,just give it a few minutes :) Don't mess with the vents,or you'll be chasing the temp all day :ohmy:
  • JPF
    JPF Posts: 592
    Options