Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Baking vegetables - Drying out

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am new to Big Green Egg cooking. I do steaks and fish well. I do roast meat various, well. I do have a problem with accompanying vegetables like spuds, carrots, pumpkin etc. When I cook Lamb under normal electric oven temperatures the vegies are too well cooked at the bottom. Some may interpret as burnt. When I cook veg on a low heat, they tend to be a bit dry.

Can anyone offer suggestions as to what I may be doing wrong?

In the first example I placed the veg in 1/2 an inch of lard. In the second example I sprayed olive oil over the veg. Both results again were unsatisfactory.

Cheers, Edwin

Comments

• Mainegg
    Mainegg Posts: 7,787
    Options
    Hi Edwin, are you cooking direct or indirect? with foil or plain? also sometimes I will do the vegis in a metal basket with holes in it. they sell them at most big box store. and I will put them above the meat if I want to keep high heat off them or under if I want to baste them. can you give us a bit more info :)as you cook more on the egg you will get more control of the temp and placement of different foods in it :) Julie
  • irishrog
    irishrog Posts: 375
    Options
    Edwin, when I do roast vegetables I chop the pieces quiet large. I normally use carrot, parsnip, squash, sweet potatoe, celeriac, onions (red & white), shallots, turnip, or any combination of the above which I have handy.