Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Kennyg's Chili on the Egg!!!

Options
fiver29
fiver29 Posts: 628
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Every fall I make Kennyg's chili recipe. I've been making it for at least 5 or 6 years now. I do it on a nice fall day and its usually within a few weeks of Eggtoberfest. I haven't made it to one yet. But I will someday. Because I promised Ken years ago I would go. I plan on posting this each year when I make it. Because it reminds of a great egger and friend. I hope you all enjoy this as much as I do.

Cheers!

For smaller single and double batches, I use deep CorningWare casserole dishes like the 2 qt. and 1 gallon in the pic. Wrapping the bottom and sides with foil makes cleanup easy. The other piece is a Hasty-Bake "basting pan" that holds 2 gallons for the bigger cooks.

Plenty of great chili recipes are available here on this forum and all over the net. Here is my basic recipe to get you started:

Per batch - 6 light or 2-3 hearty servings. This batch recipe easily doubles, triples and quadruples.

3 strips of thick bacon
1 TBS. olive oil
1 lb. of your favorite meat. course ground beef, sausage, whatever, and any combination.
1 28 oz. can seasoned diced tomatos
2 14 oz. cans chili beans, 1 each of red and black in hot or mild. whatever you like.
1 medium sweet onion chopped
1 small spanish onion chopped
2 cloves garlic run through a garlic press
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1 tsp. ground cumin
1 TBS. your favorite BBQ rub
1 or more dried chilis, I use Anchos for flavor and japones for heat.
1+ tsp. your favorite hot sauce