Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Kalua-esque Pig - Help?

Options
Wild Turkeys
Wild Turkeys Posts: 10
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hey,

I am Looking to smoke some pork with that Kalua Pig flavor this weekend. I have Hawaiin red Salt and Banana leaves, other than that I was hoping to get some advice on cuts and temps/smoking times as I've never done it before.

Thanks,

Turkeys

Comments

• Richard Fl
    Richard Fl Posts: 8,297
    Options
    This might help. Also google hawaiian luau recipes.

Turkey, Whole, Hawaiian Luau Kalua, Mike McQ

Thought I'd share a Turkey recipe I did for two occasions last year that got raves. Luau's always serve kalua pig but some also add kalua turkey, which I based this target flavor on. (I plan to do my next butt with this brine.)

Ingredients:
    13-15 lb Turkey
    The Brine Follows:
    2 Fresh lemons quartered, juice squeezed, rind tossed in
    2 Fresh limes quartered, juice squeezed, rind tossed in
    3 gal Water, enough to just cover birdie
    1 Sweet red pepper cut up
    1 cup Soy sauce
    1 Sweet yellow pepper cut
    1 cup Sea salt
    6 Cloves garlic crushed
    2.5 cup Dark brown sugar
    1 Large chunk of ginger root, peeled and crushed
    2 Tbs Ground allspice
    1 Core from fresh pineapple (fruit for salad) or small can
    2 Tbs Black pepper
    12 Peels from dozen or so madarin oranges (fruit for salad)
    1 Tbs Thyme
    12 Ti leaves (optional)
    1 large sweet onion chopped

Preparation Directions:
    1 Give your bird a brine bath in the frig for a minimum 12hrs, 24hrs or longer better:)