Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Challenged in getting BGE *hot*

Options
jpwilkin
jpwilkin Posts: 8
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm pretty new to the BGE. Got a large a couple of weeks ago and have had a blast. I'm a regular (weekly) pizza cooker and was able to give that a shot this last Friday. Beautiful! See http://scholarlypublishing.org/jpwilkin/archives/15 for a description and a couple of pictures. Here's the thing, though. I've been able to get it up to 650deg without too much trouble, but never more than that. I'd love to hit 700deg. I open the top (no daisy wheel) and leave the vent wide open. I put in a modest amount of lump (above the air holes, but not much more than that). Some strategies I've considered:[ol][li]use more lump
[li]light it in several places
[li]use a chimney
[li]try another charcoal (e.g., Cowboy?)
[/ol]I'd love some guidance on this.

Comments

• Fidel
    Fidel Posts: 10,172
    Options
    More lump will get you there, but really no need to go much higher for good pizza.

What is it you are trying to accomplish with more heat?
  • jpwilkin
    Options
    Thanks, Rod. I understand the big pizza ovens typically run at about 1000deg. I'm interested in experimenting a bit on this, seeing what I can do at a higher temp. I also had a problem sustaining the heat and think that my lump was going fast by the time I got the pizza on.
  • AZRP
    AZRP Posts: 10,116
    Options
    Like Fidel said, more fuel, but I agree, I do pizzas at 450. -RP
  • Richard Fl
    Richard Fl Posts: 8,297
    Options