Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Help! Strong Charcoal Taste

Options
jonpol
jonpol Posts: 2
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm new to Egg grilling but I've come to love it in a short time. I've encountered a problem that I don't know how to fix. Once in a while, I'll get a really strong charcoal taste - almost a strong acidic taste. Last night I grilled a pork tenderloin that came out perfect except the taste was so charcoal/acidic that we threw it away. The occurrence is random and has happened with different charcoal manufacturers. I have cooked steaks that came out with this strong taste and the next time they came out fine. I've had the same problems with vegetables.
Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong?
Thank you,
:huh:

Comments

• AZRP
    AZRP Posts: 10,116
    Options
    I'm guessing you are putting your food in before the fire is burning clean. With fresh lump you want to wait until there is no smoke visible before cooking. This can take 20-30 minutes after you reach your intended cooking temp. -RP
  • vidalia1
    vidalia1 Posts: 7,092
    Options
    Yes I believe I can...this is one of the most common mistakes...when you are getting you fire started you probably are not letting the smoke clear...there should be little or no smoke present when you put on your food..this usually takes 15-20 minutes once the fire is started...
  • HungryNephew
    HungryNephew Posts: 267
    Options
    AZRP is correct. If there is dark smoke coming out of the top and you did not put any wood in, let it burn off before putting the meat on.