Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Ribs

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am new, just bought my egg. Please send simple instructions for ribs. Temp, how long, rack located where, drip pan etc. I am really a newbie.

:S

Comments

• FlaPoolman
    FlaPoolman Posts: 11,677
    Options
    Try this
    http://www.wessb.com/Cooks/bbribs/ribs.htm

Also check out TNW's site for all kinds of advice

http://www.nakedwhiz.com/ceramic.htm

Welcome and good luck. I'm doing ribs today.
  • Gandy Dancer
    Gandy Dancer Posts: 273
    Options
    Maybe THISwill help.

Leo
    Williston, FL
  • givehim6
    givehim6 Posts: 22
    Options
    That is some great advice and I read and used this article to make my first couple of batches of ribs. A few things I've learned are

1. Perhaps my dome temp gauge is a bit off, but cooking 4 racks at 225-250 indirect doesn't require 5 hours on my large egg using the platesetter, drip pan with apple juice, and elevated extension rack. My meat was up to 150-160 after a little less than two hours. I would advice checking the meat temp at 2 hours into the cook.

2. I foil mine in honey, brown sugar, and apple juice and put them back on, meat side down, for no more than 45 minutes. I prefer the meat to have some texture and staying intact on the bone rather than being excessively moist and falling off the bone. The longer you cook in that foil the more tender it will be.