Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Prime rib help

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm going to be doing a 4-rib prime rib next week -- special occasion. I'd like to do it t-rex style: sear direct and then finish indirect at 250 or so. I've never tried this before and would appreciate any guidance from those who have.

Comments

• Little Steven
    Little Steven Posts: 28,817
    Options
    I agree. It's a lot easier to cook the roast and then sear. T-Rex works great as well but I think the chances of overcooking are greater.

Steve

Steve 

Caledon, ON

• Barbes
    Barbes Posts: 35
    Options
  • DynaGreaseball
    DynaGreaseball Posts: 1,409
    Options
    Just be sure to plan ahead on handeling your plate setter when you switch from indirect to direct. It's awkward and HOT HOT HOT.
  • Barbes
    Options
    Do you do the sear direct at the end? Turning a couple of times?
  • DynaGreaseball
    Options
    I did it that way at Christmas, and my 3 rib turned out great.

Be sure to pull and let rest at around 125° to 128° while you're waiting for the egg to get hotter for the sear. Mine climbed 8° while it rested, so consider that for how rare or well done you and your guests want it.

Don't get too hung up on the sear. Some don't even sear it at all, and they produce great cooks. It's really a lot easier than you think.

Let us know how it turns out.
  • fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,827
    Options