Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Indirect Cooking for the Complete Novice...please help me

Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hi -- I've been reading all over your and other websites and everybody talks about indirect heat but I can't find complete directions on how to do it start to finish. I want to cook a pork loin roast and a rib roast tomorrow. A local store is holding a plate setter for me which I'll get tonight -- but I've never seen one so am unclear on exactly where it goes and where to put the coal (and I sincerely hope this is not a dumb question!) and the overall order of things. From various recipes (mostly written for folks very familiar with cooking on the BGE) and FAQs I take it for indirect cooking, you fill up the fire box with coal to the top edge and somehow get the fire going (I haven't had a lot of luck with that so far). THEN you place the plate setter legs-up on the fire box edge. The grill rack then sits on top of the upturned plate setter legs and you put a disposable drip pan with V-rack in it to hold the roast (at least for the rib roast -- I take it the pork loin goes right on the grill rack with a drip pan sitting under it on the upturned plate setter -- is that right?). I understand with this method you don't need to turn either roast during cooking. From there it's 15 mins/pound for the beef roast -- unless it's 28 mins/pound as some recipes say....I think I have a thermometer at least an instant one. [p]If anyone has a start-to-finish set of instructions for the novice that I am, I'd appreciate it!
Thanks
Cindy

Comments