Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Help w/ Roasted Chicken

Options
Trout Bum
Trout Bum Posts: 343
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm new to this game, only have had my lagre BGE one week. My wife and daughter left for the weekend to visit her brother and family.
I would like to do a whole chicken for my parents. They're both in the upper 80's and can't handle anything to hot/spicy. I have the upright wire type chicken rack and the plate setter. Any suggestions on doing a 4-5 lb. bird would be appreciated. I think they might like something in order of lemon pepper, etc. Also how about some sweet spuds on the grill also. Any help would be appreciated.
Happy Easter!
Big Daddy

Comments

• Char-Woody
    Char-Woody Posts: 2,642
    Options
    Big Daddy, Thats a pretty easy order! Since you have the ceramic "plate sitter" I would skip the wire upwrite and do the following..Your lemon pepper is excellent, along with a coating of olive oil.[p]I would set up my grill with the inverted plate sitter legs up. Place a drip pan on the sitter and a second grill on top of the legs. Your ready to cook a bird. Your bird is suspending nicely flat on its back waving legs and wings into the air.[p]Prep the bird with a good wash..and rub dry inside and outside. Place apple or oranges or a combination in the cavity after oiling and seasoning with lemmon pepper (I like Lawrey's lemon pepper) Pull the skin back in place as best you can and pin it with bamboo pins. (If no bamboo, just let it rock and pull the legs together with some string.)