Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Brown Bottle Boogie Birds...(Cornish Hens) Longish for 2000

Char-Woody
Char-Woody Posts: 2,642
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Now there is only one way to do Cornish Hens...My way..No doubt about it :-) [p]Since this is the first time I have done these, I am now a cornish hen expert..but (Gotta use some biblical expression here, "God willing" and the frost don't hit the pumpkin) I shall succeed.[p]Taking a big swig of ElderBerry Wine here.[p]First thing is preparation, and psyching up ones attitude. Do I dood it?? Yah..what the heck..![p]First thing I did was unfreeze those two little bodies overnight, and then early the next morning (New Years Eve Day) I made some light duty brine of 1/2 cup of Kosher salt and 1/2 cup of dark brown sugar, and heated to just the point of boiling..not quite as it was all disolved by then. Let it chill down..Someone once told me, "Char-Woody chill out" so I guess that is what they meant. :-)[p] Added a few ice cubes after a hour or so to help it along. Also some crushed garlic, tablespoon or so...Tis critical that ya get that exact now. :-)Also some bay leaves!! Add what ya want, thats the critical part :-)[p]Then covered the birdies with the brine in a large mixing bowl and set em in the fridge for about 6 hours...! I like brining..Cat has a nice brine, and Brant, and some others in the recipe section..[p]There was a couple of recent posts also with terrific brine recipes. I hope they make it to the recipe archives. I could copy em here, but I think the posters deserve the credits.[p]Back to the bi